Well day eight will certainly be one that I remember fondly and definitely with a smile!!

I’d already certified as a Practitioner of Hypnotherapy, yet for whatever reason had not been proactively utilising the skills in my work with clients. After this week though, I can state with absolute conviction that I cannot wait to cement hypnotherapy into my offer to clients. A friend not so long ago said to me “wow, you can tell you really like to get under the skin and to the root cause of what leads people to behave in the way that they do, and how a problem becomes a problem” – she was absolutely right. Now, as a Master Practitioner of NLP, Hypnotherapy & Time Line Therapy – I really will have incredible tools in my toolbox!

Anyone who knows me reasonably well, knows that I have a bit of a soft spot for Derren Brown. I’ve been to several of his shows and have been lucky enough to go up on stage with him. Now, I refuse to believe that he’s a magician (I’m not a fan of magic). What I am learning though, is how much NLP and hypnosis content is involved in his act.

So I was so excited today, to recreate something that I have seen Derren do before – full body catalepsy. Essentially this is where the body goes so stiff and rigid that an the individual can be rested between two chairs without support between the neck and the ankles (see the title picture for a visual representation). Fair play to Hugh, who is obviously so good at going in to trance, that our disbelief and giggles did not get in the way!! Amazing!!

I’ll be reviewing my Derren Brown DVD’s (yeah, sad I know) to see what other NLP techniques I can observe in action.

